As part of another discussion, I started to wonder about the Parry and Riposte Dueling Maneuvers.
So normally any Hero regardless of training can 'interrupt' the Action flow to spend Raises to negate damage on a 1 Raise / 1 Wound basis (Pg. 180)
Parry and Riposte both state they are used on your Action and must be used immediately following the attack that did the Wounds (Pg. 235)
Has anyone else run into 'timing issues' with this? Can you Parry or Riposte an Action that caused your Hero wounds even if it was several Actions ago in the Round?
Example: Villain (6 Raises), Hero (5 Raises)
6 Raises (Villain): Spends a Raise to Slash the Hero causing 3 Wounds to the Hero
5 Raises (Villain wins ties): Spends a Raise to Feint, causing 1 Wound to the Hero
5 Raises (Hero): Can the Hero Parry/Riposte the Slash even if it was 2 Actions ago?
If the answer is Yes, then there's nothing further to ask, other than doesn't this create oddities in the flow of events?
If the answer is No, does that really limit the dueling abilities to block damage? Or do we just rely on the fact that anyone can spend Raises outside of the normal Action rules to 'negate damage 1 for 1' and this is a small balance between duelists and non-duelists?
Also, if the answer is No, has anyone tried allowing Parry and Riposte to be used outside the Action Order (Still spending the Raise) just like the 'negate Wounds'?