Link to thread on reddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/7thSea/comments/591mqe/questions_pertaining_to_...
(Thanks to Mike Curry for taking the time to answer these)
Question #1) How is Matador's Flourish meant to work? I get that it reduces Wounds taken, but the way that Torres' style bonus is worded, it implies that the Duelist could use MF prior to taking wounds, making it work similar to Bash in terms of reducing the damage before it occurs (which is very fitting for a style that evolved from bullfighting). Is this correct, or does the Duelist have to wait until after taking Wounds (much like Parry or Riposte) before using Matador's Flourish?
Answer) Matador's Flourish functions like Parry. You aren't intended to use it before the Wounds are dealt, but after. Bash says "the next time the target would deal Wounds, she deals one less" while Parry says "prevent Wounds." So, Matador's is a second Parry, similar to how Leegstra's is a second Slash.
Question #2) Do Iron Reply and Sabat Gambit follow the same rules as Riposte and Lunge except where noted? So Iron Reply (Eisenfaust) doesn't specifically say that you can only use it in response to taking Wounds, and Sabat Gambit doesn't say that you can't prevent Wounds. My assumption was that apart from their noted differences, each would still follow the general rules of the Maneuver they are replacing. Is that correct?
Answer) You are correct. The language in Riposte and Parry is a bit clunky, where it talks about "you must perform this Maneuver immediately following" blah blah blah stuff, so that language is being removed when we do errata. Originally, the idea was to enforce a much more back-and-forth, but it just feels kind of crappy that you can't defend yourself until your turn. The fact that you're taking the Action ahead of time is built in to how Action order works, so it's unnecessary and confusing wording.
Question #3) Can a Duelist spend Raises to boost the effectiveness of a Maneuver? In short, could a Duelist chose to spend additional Raises when using Slash to deal more Wounds? My initial thought was yes (even if it's woefully inefficient to do so), but after some re-evaluation I've changed to thinking they can't, and that a Maneuver's listed damage is what it does, and that Raises can't be spent for extra effect, with the exception of Lunge.
Answer) No, Maneuvers have a set effect when you perform them unless otherwise noted (Lunge, specifically). So you can't spend multiple Raises to make your Slash stronger. You spend one Raise, you perform Slash, and Slash always does X. Originally this was not the case, but having Maneuvers with variable effects REALLY slowed down Dueling as it added another step to a process that was intended to be pretty fast paced. Step 1 was choose your Maneuver, step 2 was choose how many Raises you want to use to perform that Maneuver. It sounds simple, but it turned gameplay intended to be a quick back-and-forth into 5 minutes of chess, where both people are doing math back and forth to figure out how many Raises to spend on this Parry so that they can still do XYZ later in the round, etc. So, now it's simplified, and while some of the complexity was lost we gained a TON of speed.
Question #4) With Bash, can this be used to reduce the damage suffered from a Lunge? My thought is that based upon how Bash is worded, you're not "avoiding" or "preventing" the damage from Lunge, just simply reducing the effectiveness of it. It would also help curtail some of the viciousness of Lunge, especially for those players that use it as an auto-win button in duels to first blood.
Answer) This is correct. If you anticipate their Lunge and Bash them preemptively, their Lunge does fewer Wounds. The language on Lunge just means you can't spend Raises AFTER they Lunge to take less damage, either from Riposte or Parry or just 1:1 Raises. You MUST predict the Lunge, or take all of it.
Question #5) What in this system would constitute "first blood" in regards to such a duel? My thought (based in large part upon the old 1e Swordsman's Guild sourcebook) is that first blood is equivalent to suffering a Dramatic Wound. Or is it just the first person to deal a Wound that isn't countered by the target?
Answer) I'd say first Dramatic Wound as well, but mileage may vary.
Dono's Gaming & Etc Blog