What happens when PCs fail Steps, or the overall Goal, in a Story?
The core book has the example Story Goal "Hector lies dead at Leannán's feet," and a first Step of "Question Degarmo." But what would happen if Degarmo clams up and refuses to answer questions, or Hector gets to him first and the PC comes across his still-cooling corpse (followed by a thrilling rooftop chase after Hector)? What if it turns out that Hector was acting under orders of Queen Elaine, so the PC's ills were a side-effect of saving the realm, or Hector repents his crimes and asks for a chance to redeem himself?
In the case of a failed Step, I'd rule that if the PC has made a significant and sincere attempt to achieve the Step, but still fails, it still counts as a completed Step for the ongoing Story.
In the case of not achieving a Goal despite achieving all the Steps, I'd rule that the Story is still compete and the PC will get the reward, though it may not be the one they originally intended, if the new one fits better (e.g. instead of improving Aim, gain the repentant Hector as the 3-point Patron advantage).