1st edition veteran here who just got himself into a group for a 2nd edition game and man am I confused.
I skimmed the forums to see if any of the following questions were already answered but, at a quick glance, I could not find any.
Page 181 of the core rulebook states that the 'regular' wounds goes away shortly after the end of a Scene. The exemple even specify that 'If he gets into another sword fight, he starts at zero Wounds on the first tier of his Death Spiral, but all of his Dramatic Wounds are already filled in'.
So, let's say I end a scene with 3 Dramatic wounds and 2 'regular' wounds. After a few moments, those 2 'regular' wounds disapear but I'm still stuck with my 3 Dramatic wounds.
So my question is: if I get into another fight, how many 'regular' wounds do I need to get my 4th Dramatic wound?
Possibility #1: 5 wounds (to fill up only the wounds between my already existing 3 Dramatic wounds and the fourth)
Possibility #2: 20 wounds (to fill up all the wounds INCLUDING the already existing Dramatic wounds up to and including the 4th Dramatic wound)
Possibility #3: 17 wounds (to fill up all the wound up to and including the 4th Dramatic wounds EXCEPT the already existing Dramatic wounds)
If I read the exemple right, it does describe exactly Possibility #3 but that seems too good to be true.
About wounds again but this time concerning guns.
The rule about guns seems to be pretty much 'I hit you, no matter what, and you get (at least) a Dramatic wound'.
The question is about what do they mean exactly by 'I get an Dramatic wound'.
Let's say that I currently have 0 Dramatic wounds but 4 'regular' wounds
I get it by a gun for 1 Dramatic wound + 2 'regular' wounds.
Possibility #1: Does it mean that I get a total of 7 (unskipable) 'regular wounds (so since I had already 4 regular wounds, I end up with a total of 11, therefore 2 Dramatic Wounds + 1 regular wound)
Possibility #2: Or did I just got the first 'star' of Dramatic wound filled up and continue to stack up the regular wounds were I was (So I'm now at 1 dramatic wound and 1 regular wound)
About Portée magic
How does the portal behave once opened?
Possibility #1 : It closes itself as soon as I get in.
Possibility #2: It closes itself after a certain time and/or once I reach my destination/pulled the item
Possibility #3: It closes whenever I decide to (so I can let it opened forever/until I die). If so, does it mean I can walk back to it later if I find that I can't get out at my marked item?
Possibility #4: It stays there forever
The information section about Blessures SEEMS to imply (at least when it's a Blessure instead of a blooded portal) that the Portal stays there until someone else closes it but what about Portal opened using blood (i.e. the 'heroic way' of opening them).
About Portée magic again
Rules says I can use a hero point to bring people with me (i.e. I guide them through it).
But can I use the Portal to get rid of something (i.e. I throw a bomb in it before it explode and then closes the portal)?
What about unwilling people, can I shove a bad guy in it and close the Portal?
... yeah, I know, I'm evil but hey....
About the Dueliste move 'Riposte'
The description seems to mean that when using this, you get to 'soak' a number of wounds (that the target just did to you) UP TO a number equal to your rank in weaponry AND (at the same time) do that same rank of weaponry wounds TO that target.
This seems pretty straightforward (and overpowered) but then the exemple they give is confusing me.
The 'Fiona' character they use as an exemple is hit by 2 wounds from her ennemy. The exemple states that she's 'spending a Raise to reduce the Wounds she suﬀers from Bustillo’s attack to zero'.
This would seem to mean that her rank in weaponery is 1 (wow, what a duelist) since her rank needed to be 'boosted' by 1 Raise to soak those 2 wounds.
But then it adds: 'and inﬂicting three more Wounds on the Villain!'
Where are those 3 Wounds coming from? If she have only 1 Rank of weaponry she sould be doing either just 1 Wounds to the Villain or (and that's an whole other question) 2 if that Raise applies to both Damage mitigation AND Damage done.
But one way or another, it cannot be 3 wounds.
Anyone managed to figure that one out?
I thank you for any light you can shed on this.