So far, I love everything about 7th Sea 2nd Edition, but I'm very confused about the core mechanic as it applies to how often you roll. Some of the examples in the core rulebook imply that you roll only once for an entire scene, yet some examples seem to imply that you roll each turn. Let's say for example a group of PC musketeers have just found themselves in a village courtyard surrounded by ne'er-do-wells. After initiative is established, does each player only roll once based on their approach, and use those sets of 10 for everything they'll do during the entire fight, or do they roll each round after they announce their new approach based on what just happened? It seems obvious to me that it would be a round by round thing, but honestly some of the examples really imply differently. I can't imagine using one roll for an entire fight scene, but then again I'm not a game designer and I don't want to break a system that is designed specifically to work a particular way. That's not house-ruling, that's just not playing the game right.
Other than that, well, I just gotta say I love the game, love the art, LOVE the setting and can't wait for the rest of the world! Thank you John and Co.!